ask an italian

What is the right coffee to order at a café?

I think about this a lot. For me it’s always been skim lattes, one sugar. But I worry, it’s not…sophisticated. This was always the way until I met my love, who lives with an Italian, who makes short blacks with his cafeteria on the stove every morning. So I got used to the no milk thing. And then the ritual became addictive too, we never really say much until we’ve had at least one. Still I want to be one of those people who take no sugar, or order short blacks at cafés.

So I asked him for his advice because he’s Italian.

What is the most embarrassing coffee order one can make?

DECAF

What is your signature coffee order?

ESPRESSO

What is the secret to making a perfect coffee on the stove?

Knowing the cafeteria and the coffee. Also patience and care, recklessness will have its effects on the outcome.

What is the sexiest coffee order a girl can make?

If she doesn’t ASK, she DEMANDS. Not what she orders as much as how she orders it.

Would you choose to not date someone based on a bad coffee order?

I’ve considered it. The girl from the wedding got an iced coffee and didn’t even drink it (bitch).

Note: ‘Girl at the wedding’ if you read this please can you text him back.

Best coffee place in Sydney?

Passalacqua in Haberfield. Used to be Shenkin in Erskineville but now that place just reminds me of ex-girlfriends.

Best coffee place in the world (that you know of)?

Cafe Antica in Raffadali, Sicily. I walked for 30 minutes every day during a heatwave just to get coffee from there.

What has been your favourite life experience involving drinking coffee?

Having coffee every day at Bar Internazionale in positano.. it’s on the top of the mountain city and it’s one of my happy places.

Image

Leave a comment